top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMimi

How do you eat an elephant?

One bite at a time!


Things are starting to come together over here at Junebug Designs. Trey has all of the wiring supplies to hook up the kiln, I obtained replacement KS parts, and I have clay! In my possession!! That I am making things out of in my sweet little workspace! All of these things are good news. Great news. It means that I am inching ever-closer to my goal of getting a product line out and (gasp) actually kinda making it as a working artist...



Which I am actually finding pretty darn scary. Everyone has advice... and everyone's advice is different. It's cool, I'll just sit here in my cute little chair and try to distill the best methods for *me*, right? Is that how this works? Wah. Something useful that most everyone is saying, though, is that it is totally okay and normal to be scared. That worrying means you care about what you're doing, and that while it is a bit of a killer, fear of failure is n o r m a l .


Let that sink in. Fear of failure is normal.



Thankfully, I have what feels like the most supportive husband ever. If you know us personally, please - take a moment and sing Trey's praises! Every doubt I have about myself, every time I worry that I'm kidding myself and nobody will actually want to purchase my work (oh hello, impostor syndrome), he is here with soft eyes and kind words. He is probably my number one fan, tied with my parents. Much like their home is littered with my art projects of old, his office space at UT is like a miniature gallery of my work. Photographs, ceramics, I think he even has a painting.


So, while I may feel like I am staring down an elephant all on my own, it turns out that I have a whole family of people to help me eat it... one bite at a time.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WELCOME TO OUR BLOG

bottom of page